Could Concussion Settlement increase suicides among former NFL Players?

While we wait for the final details of the proposed Concussion Settlement, there are some big concerns about one aspect of the proposal that could have far reaching implications and devastating consequences for former players, their families and their friends.

There is a provision in the agreement to compensate families of deceased players, including those who killed themselves, if they are diagnosed with CTE (Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy). Dr. Bennet Omalu and Dr. Julian Bailes have said that “diagnosis of CTE remains autopsy based,” and that there is “currently no accepted method of diagnosing CTE until post-mortem pathological analysis has been conducted.” 

Although there is some promising research to detect CTE in living players, it appears that the Concussion Settlement will only compensate players that are diagnosed with CTE after they have died and their brains have been examined in an autopsy.

Upset by this news, a former player recently sent me an email where he said If I commit suicide or have someone else kill me in case I chicken out, my brain will highly likely be found with CTE and my family will be “compensated” about $3 million dollars. Jeff, doesn’t this sound like a reasonable resolution? I know it is morbid. I understand that suicide is not an answer to anything, but does the league understand the choices that they are placing in front of us? If I could guarantee my family financial stability for many years to come, where is the question? My children are grown and highly independent, my wife has a job and although I’m sure they would miss me, they would get over it in time and perhaps even recognize the ultimate sacrifice that I would have paid for them. Does the league get this? I recognize that one old, not particularly well known former player dying may not make the news but what if a group collaborated? What if several guys who have considered this in the past came together for the good of the rest and RETIRED ONE LAST TIME?”

His email sent chills down my spine.

In my email response to him I said “Before you consider doing anything as drastic as you mention in your email, please call me. I was extremely disheartened when my friend and fellow Richmond Alumnus, Ray Easterling took his own life without ever giving a hint that he was contemplating suicide. I understood his reasons for doing what he did, but I have to believe there is a better way. Your email will remain totally confidential. Let’s talk.”

We did talk…..and I assured him that his email would continue to remain confidential. I’m not going to reveal what we talked about, but after our phone conversation, I felt very uneasy about the way the Settlement language might actually create such an unintended consequence. 

It’s not hard to see why some former players would be considering suicide as a viable option. First of all, we need to understand that their cognitive impairment has already clouded their judgment. Memory loss, dementia and depression are some of the alleged symptoms of CTE. How can a player be held accountable for their actions when they are experiencing these mental conditions? 

In a recent ESPN Outside the Lines interview,  Tony Dorsett said “I’ve thought about crazy stuff, sort of like, Why do I need to continue going through this?’ I’m too smart a person, I like to think, to take my life, but it’s crossed my mind.” 

I’m sure it has crossed minds of a lot of players, but now there might be an incentive to carry through with their suicidal ideation. 

How do former players know that their autopsy would show they had CTE?  They don’t really know for sure, but consider this: Researchers at Boston University have discovered 28 new cases of chronic brain damage in deceased football players – including 15 who played in the NFL – more than doubling the number of documented cases connecting football to long-term brain disease.

Although the current studies regarding the diagnoses of CTE in living persons has not been conclusively validated by the scientific community, the proposed Concussion Settlement should include language that will compensate players if, or when, the scientific community finally develops a proven procedure for detecting CTE in living persons.  

One final thing for my NFL Alumni brothers to consider….

Make sure you have made arrangements to have your brain examined in an autopsy after you die. Your heirs may be very glad that you did.   

Additionally, you can help speed up the research by becoming a part of the D.E.T.E.C.T. (Diagnosing and Evaluating Traumatic Encephalopathy Using Clinical Tests) Study: The ultimate goal of this study is to develop methods of diagnosing CTE during life through the use of a variety of tests, including MRI scans (such as diffusion tensor imaging), MRS scans (also known as a “virtual biopsy”), blood tests, and measures of proteins in spinal fluid. Here is a link to the study and what you can do to participate: BU DETECT Study

Your Alumni bother,

Jeff Nixon

About Jeff Nixon

Jeff was a first team consensus All-American from the University of Richmond in 1978. He is 7th in NCAA history with 23 career interceptions. Played for the Buffalo Bills 1979-1984. Led the team with 6 interceptions in Rookie Year. Holds Bills record for 4 takeaways in a single game - 3 interceptions and a fumble recovery. Tied Bills record with four consecutive games with an interception. After 5 knee surgeries Jeff retired from pro football in 1985. He worked for 13 years (1988-2000) as the Youth Bureau Director for Buffalo and Erie County. He has worked for the past 11 years as the Youth Employment Director for Buffalo. Plays guitar and was voted best R&B guitar player by Buffalo Nightlife Magazine in 2006, 2007 and 2008.

Posted on November 20, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Tom Matte Baltimore Colts 61-72

    Totally agree that this is a serious situation. This gives a player a easy way out to protect his family. 3 million is great incentive. I can only hope and PRAY that my friends and colleagues won’t see this as the answer. The league has to come up with the answers as to how to control a situation like this.

  2. For those of you that haven’t figured it out, You will die soon enough. That in Gods plan and in Gods time. I personally find it quite refreshing to ” ENJOY AND LIVE IN THE PRESENT”. Today is truly a gift! let’s not miss the joys of today with thoughts of Yesterday. Be blessed and seek Wisdom now so that your life here on Earth qualifies you for Eternity
    Charlie Davis
    NFL-ALUMNI/NFLPA
    HOUSTON

  3. By the way, I called the phone number for “The Trust” to inquire about the brain and body part of the settlement. I spoke to Danielle Forman. She told me two things that blew me away. 1. the brain study does NOT include any info about CTE. 2. to be considered to be tested, you have to be within 15 years of retiring from the game. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. I told her that guys NEED to be tested for CTE otherwise why the brain study?
    I told her that guys who are at least 15 years removed from the game are the ones who NEED to be tested. It appears to be the SOS for the old guys!! Ron Egloff Tight End Denver Broncos ’77-’84.

  4. Of course, players will think of taking their lives to protect their families. At least, they might see a check.

    The “Trust” is another one of Smith’s PR scams. How much of the $44MM available in the past two years has been used to help medically impaired players? (this does not count the Harvard money or the 44MM for charitable use – all active player money. What did De do with it.)The PA is just going along with whatever Mr. Goodell orders them to do. You might start asking why the EC sold out Sean Morey’s plan, a 9-year vet, and probably the game’s most knowledgeable expert on head injury. Instead, they are just setting up actives and retirees for a fall by spewing nonsense.

  5. My wife and I are going thru very difficult times right now.With all of this going on I got worse news and was diagnosed with Lymphoma.Im worried I might be dead by the time all this is sorted out with my attorney and the courts. How long are these cases taking? I have been working on this for sometime. Time is important now and was just wondering.I get no real answer from my attorney as to how long this might take. He just says be patient.

Leave a Reply

